Orkney Scottish Parliament constituency
Upcoming elections
We’ve not managed to detect any elections in this area. To find out if there are elections check with your local council.
2007 Scottish Parliament election results
Winner Liberal Democrats Hold (28.6% majority)
Constituency MSP Liam McArthur
Top-up region MSPs 4 Labour, 3 Conservative, 2 Scottish National Party, 1 Green Party, 1 Liberal Democrats, 1 Democratic Unionist Party, 1 Ulster Unionist Party, 1 UK Independence Party
Region Highlands and Islands
Orkney results for Scottish Parliament election, 2007

Share of constituency votes

Party Votes Share Swing
Liam McArthur
LD 4,113 47.5% +1.8
John Mowat
SNP 1,637 18.9% +5.7
Helen Gardiner
Con 1,632 18.9% -4.9
Iain MacDonald
Lab 1,134 13.1% +7.2
Barrie Johnson
Ind 137 1.6%

Share of top-up region votes: Highlands and Islands region

Share of vote and seats
Votes Share Seats
Liberal Democrats LD
2,722 31.8%
Scottish National Party SNP
1,951 22.8% 2
Conservative Con
1,307 15.3% 2
Labour Lab
1,075 12.5% 3
Green Party Gre
535 6.2%
Scottish Christian Union SCU
197 2.3%
Solidarity Sol
137 1.6%
UK Independence Party UKIP
105 1.2%
Scottish Socialist Party SSP
67 0.8%
Independent Ind
0 0.0%
Other Oth
472 5.5%
Elected regional members for Highlands and Islands region
Rob Gibson
Scottish National Party SNP
David Thompson
Scottish National Party SNP
Mary Scanlon
Conservative Con
Jamie McGrigor
Conservative Con
Peter Peacock
Labour Lab
Rhoda Grant
Labour Lab
David Stewart
Labour Lab
Seat background for Orkney constituency
Last four Constituency MSPs for Orkney
Liam McArthur
Liberal Democrats
Jim Wallace
Liberal Democrats
Jim Wallace MP
Liberal Democrats
Upcoming elections
More information coming soon